A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini

Having read The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul, I wanted to explore the genre further. I’m very happy I did.

Have you ever wept whilst reading a book? I don’t just mean a few little tears, trickling down your your cheeks and soaking into the yellow-tinted pages…I mean full on devastation, whose evidence may be found in the discoloration of any fabric around you.

This book has you so wrapped up in the unfathomable tangle which is these ladies’ lives and I loved it!

Based in the troubled city of Kabul, this book narrates the lives of two women living through the turbulent events which came to pass in Afghanistan over fifty years. It shows two sides to men and many more of women. Although it is important to appreciate that the lives of these women do come close to the lives of many more in real life, this is still a very enjoyable read. I may be alone here, but I thoroughly enjoy a sad, sad book. This book swirls between the two women, Mariam and Laila, along with a commentary (sometimes from the male characters, sometimes from news reports, and even from Hosseini himself) on the governmental state of Afghanistan, alongside the events in the lives of the valiant female protagonists. Hosseini, the best-selling author of The Kite Runner, has created a real gem in this book. He has managed to capture the horror of civil war, terrorism and domestic abuse and yet embrace parenthood, young love and unbreakable friendships. Despite the aforementioned devastation, there wasn’t a moment in which I wanted to stop engrossing myself in the tragedies. I just knew it had to get better…sometimes it didn’t…but sometimes it did! And it was those moments I held onto because the emotional rush of happiness, for the characters’ fortune, far exceeded that of the sadness I felt for their loss.

I would recommend this book to anybody with an enthusiasm for sad books, like myself, and also those who know the importance of love, friendship and hope. Your faith will be reinforced by reading this book.

A Thousand Splendid Suns is a haunting, heartbreaking, compelling story of an unforgiving time, an unlikely friendship and an indestructible love.

— Atossa Leoni

Happy reading,

Carenza

There were tears but I do not regret being a part of this story, carrying it as it lives on within me.
2 thoughts on “A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini

Leave a Reply

